Skip navigation

Awesome Extracurriculars

So much of the experience of being in school happens outside of the classroom. This week was an excellent week for me in terms of extracurricular activities. I attended a quilt guild meeting in West Lebanon with the Dean of Admissions, who happens to be a quilter as well (small world). Then Thursday night I went to the Freight House to see community members who get together to play bluegrass music. It was incredible. I was impressed with the musician’s ability to listen to a few seconds of a player’s song choice, and then immediately jump in and join them. The spread of instruments and talent that was there was truly wonderful.

Saturday morning some VLS students got together to go birding at Marsh-Billings-Rockefeller National Historical Park. While the weather was sort of crummy, the company was great, and what we lacked in bird quantity, we made up for in quality. We saw a number of eastern species that were new for me, and even those who weren’t that into birding were happy just to be outdoors. Here’s a link to my personal blog, which contains pictures from the day.

I am truly loving my experiences here in Vermont, both inside the classroom, and beyond.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
