Skip navigation

Hellooooo February!

Alright now we’re a good couple of weeks into classes. This semester is MUCH busier than last fall was. At least in terms of scheduled requirements. My four classes and internship are being managed fairly well at this point. I would love to be able to have more time to commit to my internship than I do. However, since I’m not doing it for credit I am restricted to the 10 to 12 hours I already dedicate (time commuting included). The balancing act will only get more interesting from here as the writing assignments for class pile on top of the reading, and my internship wants me to meet with planning commission officials from across the state.

As busy as I am. And for as little sleep as I am getting, I really couldn’t be happier with my schedule. Last fall I attempted to have involvement in a few different clubs but nothing really grabbed my attention. As a result I was overwhelmed with school work and trying to figure out how the whole law school thing works but, my schedule wasn’t regimented enough. At this point I feel like I am able to get more done with the time I have because I have to. There is no way around it. I suppose I work better under pressure and time constraints. It definitely isn’t for everyone.

Moving away from that for a minute… law prom was last weekend in Burlington. When I got the e-mail last November I was pretty critical of it. Prom? Really? Well, it does have a more sophisticated title of Barrister’s Ball. Everyone calls it law prom though. I really was not planning on going. It took a little bit of arm twisting and conversations with other people to decide it was worth the $25 ticket. One of my roommates, who isn’t much of a joiner, was going. How could I stay back in SoRo when the majority of the student body would be all dressed up for a decent night away from town together? I couldn’t. As a MELP I knew I wouldn’t have a second chance really. It was a good time. I’m glad I went and I was even happier to share the occasion with the other MELPs who decided to go too. Its surprising how much camaraderie we build with one another. Its very cool and definitely unique.

Alright, now back to school work… post Saints Super Bowl win!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
