Skip navigation

Spring Semester is Winding to a Close

Only 8 more days of classes (M/W/F) and three weeks of the semester left. I have two final exams, Environmental Law and Watershed Management. I have one MELP communications campaign presentation coming up, which my partner and I are feeling really good about, and I have one Environmental Dispute Resolution simulation to write. Then I’m home for a few weeks to relax, visit my family, and hopefully interview for jobs for after graduation.

I am beginning to hear back from the job applications I’ve sent out, and while I haven’t gotten a solid offer yet, I’ve had a lot of very promising responses, and have even begun to line up interviews for the two weeks I’ll be in California between spring and summer courses. While I don’t feel at ease exactly, knowing I’m being proactive has really kept me from going crazy. I do have anxiety dreams occasionally about not getting a job, but I know that’s all part of the process.

Next week I have an appointment with the Career Services office, to go over my resume, the sorts of jobs I’m looking for, opportunities I may not be aware of, etc. I’m really looking forward to getting their perspective on things since they’ve seen a lot of MELPs through the job-seeking process, and can give me realistic ideas of what I can expect to get, and who to contact.

I got into all the summer courses I wanted, which is great. I’m taking the first three sessions of summer classes, which means by July 24th, I’ll be officially done with classes at VLS – one day after my birthday, not a bad gift to myself… This year has truly blown by. I think that coming was a great decision, I’ve gained life experiences, a degree that will further my career, and great friends along the way. I also learned more about myself – for instance, that I don’t want to go on for a JD. Also that small town living, while worthwhile to experience, is really not for me. I also came to the realization that while I can live anywhere for a short time, the West coast is where I belong. I am so glad I chose to come here, and I think that when I’m gone, I’ll look back on the experience fondly.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
