Skip navigation

First Term Finished (Already!)

It’s already finals week(end) for the first term of summer session here at VLS. I really really enjoyed everything about it actually. The course I took, Ocean & Coastal Law was extremely interesting, and pertinent with the spill in the Gulf dominating news. It was taught by three different guys who all work in the ocean & coastal environmental field. One in non-profit, one in government, and one in a firm. While there was certainly a difference in teaching style and speaking ability, all three really knew their stuff and had different and dynamic things to offer. I would recommend the course to students like myself from the coastal states, or those who know very little about it and want to understand more. Our final, as I expect many of the summer courses will be, is a paper. Of course the first weekend of finals would fall on our first warm, sunny weekend as well. Even so, I’m going to try and get some tubing in this weekend – how could I not take advantage of the weather?!

Next week is Politics, Policies & the Environment for me. I’m looking forward to seeing how it goes. The professor has yet to assign any reading prior to the first class, so I’m not sure what to expect, but I hope it will be equally as interesting as my last term was. I’ve noticed that in the past week, I’ve been getting more interview offers, I guess it’s finally getting close enough to my graduation date for employers to be able to picture me coming to them in the next month. I’ve had a few good interviews, have another lined up for next week, and a few more groups letting me know if they’ll want an interview after they officially stop accepting applications – around July 1st. I get the feeling that it’ll begin to snowball now that I’m getting down to the wire – thank god – not sure how much more of this twisting in the wind I could handle. I certainly couldn’t be like the original “hippies,” living in the moment and all that jazz. I’m too much of a compulsive planner. I’m also looking forward to sleeping well again. It seems like I toss and turn every night, alternating between being excited over the possibilities and terrified of not finding a job/apartment, etc. in time for my lease coming up. In the meantime, throwing myself into writing my paper and enjoying the nice weather.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
