Skip navigation

Second to last night in SoRo.

I had my first day of work today in Burlington. I was up at 5:15 this morning and didn’t get back to SoRo until 7:15 tonight. It has been a long day and I’m psyched to only have to make that commute once. I’m moving to Winooski on Sunday with the help of some joint degree friends of mine. I only just finished my IRP (independent research project) this past Monday night! The turn around time between getting the job offer a week and a half ago, finding a place to live, finishing my required 30 credits to graduate, start work, AND pack has been more than I would recommend for any sane person. I definitely had a minor meltdown this evening when I realized I was over committed this weekend and that I’d have to sacrifice playing in some of the local women’s softball tournament to be able to move. It is pretty disappointing to play all season and then duck out right at the finale.

To more important things though, my first day of work was better than I was expecting. I tend to take things very literally so when I read the terms of employment and employee handbook for this private consulting firm, I thought I was going to hate it. The rules, as written, are very strict and seem extremely unforgiving. Thankfully, my worse case scenario thoughts were proven wrong. The office here in Vermont, versus their headquarters, is more lenient on dress code. I’m grateful for that and the money it will save me on dry cleaning. There was certainly a lot to learn just in the last few hours of the day. Lots of databases to learn, and systems to try to conceptualize. All of that will take quite a bit of energy to get the basics on let alone get to a point to knowing how to use it as the tool it is meant for. I’ll be excited for the day that I’m there though. All in all, its an amazing job that is in a very cutting edge field of hazardous waste management. I’m very lucky to get the position with the job market being so tight.

I’ll have to see if I can fit in another blog in before the end of the summer.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
