Skip navigation

Thinking of Vermont

Right now, I’m reading Barbara Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. The book is excellent, but I sure did pick a bad time to read it. You see, I’m in Australia right now, where it’s winter (technically — today really seems like spring to me, in fact, and it never really gets that cold.) The book is really making me miss Vermont, the wonderful summers there, and the wonderful food that you can grow in your garden or buy at local farmers’ markets.

Especially this summer, which I hear has been a hot one. That means tomatoes should be doing wonderfully, and I’m sure there are whole piles of squash, beans, and other delicious veggies at the moment. Not to mention the chanterelles you can find in the woods and the delicious wild raspberries and blackberries you can find on the bushes.

I think one of the best things about the MELP degree is that you get to spend a summer in Vermont, which means you can experience all of these wonderful foods which are produced and grown so close to SoRo. In fact, you could probably try a mini version of Kingsolver’s experiment, where you buy and eat food that’s only grown locally (really, it would actually be pretty easy to do for the summer, especially since the cafe at VLS is supplied primarily by local farms.)

Though I’m really missing Vermont at the moment, the book is actually making me appreciate how much food is grown locally here in Adelaide. People really do seem to care about where things are grown or made here, and really, Australia is pretty excellent for growing food. In fact, even though it’s the winter, this is the time when people’s gardens are producing, since it’s often too hot in the summer.

So, although I’m really longing for Vermont this August, I’m at least happy to know that I’m doing a relatively good job of eating locally. We even had some eggs this morning from the chickens (chooks, as they call them here) which live right behind our house. And, I’m thinking of trying some of the local cheese making classes after reading about making your own cheese in the book. Certainly, if you haven’t had much experience with gardens, or even if you have, this would be a great book to read before coming to Vermont. You can find farms and farmers’ markets like the ones Kingsolver describes all over the state!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
