Skip navigation

Crazy Week

Saturday I spent the beautiful sunny day in Burlington with a bunch of friends.  Let me tell you, Burlington is beautiful and after seeing Lake Champlain for the first time in my life, I realized why everyone always has great things to say about that town.  I spent the day weaving in and out of people, street vendors and street performers, while looking for the next cute shop to investigate.  Once again, everyone was very friendly and so many people were smiling and in good spirits.  I feel like it could be one of two things: 1)Either it was because the day was perfect weather-wise or 2) Because Ben & Jerry’s was only a couple blocks away.  Either way, I got some sweet vibes in Burlington.

On Sunday, the day before a fairly busy week, my computer called it quits.  I was reading Natural Resources Law the one minute and the next minute my computer stopped working.  Normally, I would have panicked, but I just kind of shrugged it off and figured the IT lab could wave their magic wand somehow.  Once Monday rolled around, I decided to wait until Tuesday to take my computer into the lab.  The IT people were very nice and helpful, but unfortunately they were also the bringers of bad news.  My computer needed fixed, but they couldn’t do it.  After much personal debate, I painfully decided to invest in a new computer.  I did my research online and checked out computers at Best Buy until I finally decided on a computer.  As of right now, I am blogging from my very new computer and its bittersweet.  However, the moral to this very long story is that not having a computer for even a week at school can pose some difficulties, especially if you don’t live close to campus.  I will say one thing about my couple days without a computer, I spent a lot less time on my butt burning my eyes out and more time out and about.  It was refreshing.

On to more exciting news…the Tunbridge Fair is here! Even the rain could not stop me from enjoying the best of what the fair had to offer.  I am a fair food fanatic and so when I found out my friend didn’t mind a little rain either, we headed down to Tunbridge to see what all the excitement was about.  I wasn’t sure how this fair would measure  up to my beloved fair back home, but needless to say, I was impressed.  I heard a rumor about maple cotton candy and even though I am not a maple syrup fan, (please don’t hate me) I fell in love.  To anyone who enjoys a tasty treat, just give the maple cotton candy a try and I swear on my life you won’t be disappointed.

Also, we saw some gigantic pumpkins and be-dazzled vegetables.  It wouldn’t have been a fair visit without looking at all the animals and ooohing and aaahing over the newly born piglets.  The other must at the fair are the pig races.  I will not go into any detail because I don’t want to ruin any surprises, but its a must see.

All in all, even though it was a rainy and dreary day today, I had an awesome time at the fair.  Tomorrow is Friday and then hopefully a less rainy weekend is on the way.

(As a side note: I received a book called “Take Time” from my aunt as a graduation present and I would like to share some quotes as I continue to write throughout the semester.)

“Your heart often knows things before your mind does.” ~M.J. Ryan

D.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
