Skip navigation

Voting in Vermont

This past week, students and Dean Shields encouraged the VLS community to register to vote in Vermont. For most of the week, people sat in the Chase Breezeway and asked students if we’d consider registering to vote in Vermont.  I’ve been registered to vote in Vermont since late August, when I was asked to register while buying sweet corn and tomatoes at the South Royalton Farmers Market, which is held every Thursday from 3:00-6:30.

I registered to vote, and took the Vermont Voter’s Pledge. Vermont is the only state in that has voter’s take a pledge when they register to vote. The pledge reads, “You solemnly swear (or affirm) that whenever you give your vote or suffrage, touching any matter that concerns the State of Vermont, you will do it so as in your conscience you shall judge will most conduce to the best good of the same, as established by the Constitution, without fear or favor of any person.

After taking the pledge at the Farmer’s Market, I was handed a pound of tiny baby potatoes for registering. As I’ve registered to vote in several states over the past many years, I must say that registering to vote in Vermont was the easiest and most fun experience I’ve had!

I am sharing this to highlight how VLS encourages students to involved in the South Royalton community, and Vermont at large.  This is one of the reasons I’m enjoying my time at VLS so much, because I appreciate feeling part of the larger Vermont community.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
