Skip navigation

A Hazy Shade of Winter

A lovely Simon and Garfunkel song is appropriate right now: “Look around, leaves are brown now, and the sky is a hazy shade of winter.”  Autumn in Vermont is quickly drawing to a close.  Virtually all of the leaves have fallen and the highs are now in the low 40s.  It has already snowed three times.  Luckily, I have plenty of warm clothing from my study abroad trip to Antarctica and from rowing in college.  If you come without enough warm clothing, there is an L.L.Bean in West Lebanon.  I recently bought a mad bomber hat there, which I am very excited about.  However, I am not mentally prepared for a long winter.  This will be quite an adventure for me.

Runners beware: I have had a very difficult time running in SoRo.  In every direction, the sidewalks extend at most half of a mile.  In addition, there are no trails other than the trail up to Kent’s Ledge.  This is great for hill workouts, but not for everyday running.  It is possible to run on the roads, although it is not optimal because there is not much room on the shoulder.  Once the roads turn into dirt roads, it is beautiful.  For me, the dirt roads are about a mile and a half away, so I don’t get much time on the dirt roads unless I’m going on a longer run.  I live right next door to the South Royalton School, and I plan to begin working out in the school gym each evening.  Supposedly they have a treadmill, elliptical, bike, and weights.  I normally do not like working out inside, although as winter is quickly approaching this may not be a bad idea after all!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
