Skip navigation

Its December already?

Wow, this semester has flown by faster than I ever imagined.  In some ways its good, but it is crazy to think that in less than a year I will (hopefully) be pursuing my professional career. AHH! It is a lot to stomach, especially rolling into my first  finals of my graduate student career.

One thing that I will say about the end of the semester is that it is important to get into the right mentality.  At this point, almost everyone is stressed/tired in some shape or form.  However, you can’t let it get the best of you.  During times like these, a day off here and there is a MUST.  Endless hours studying in the library and multiple cups of coffee can only do so much for a person.  I have always been a big believer in taking a breath here and there.  If I want my mind to be in tip-top shape for finals, I can’t be completely exhausted when the time comes to sit down and write them.

Therefore, I have decided that at this point in the semester, more so than any other, is the most important time to do things for myself.  For example, last night a couple friends and I made some delicious food, so delicious that it took us 3 1/2 hours to complete the task!!  Let me tell you, once this spread of curry, rice, potato cakes, bread and cookies was finished, it was worth all that time in the end.  Cooking by yourself or with friends does not (in any way) involve the library or having my face buried in a book.  I consider that a wonderful night off.  Now, as I get my day started I am refreshed, motivated and I have a full stomach!! What more can a girl as for??

Basically what I am saying is that during crunch time, you have to take a breather because if you don’t, you’re worn out.  I encourage everyone to try and cook/bake something new by yourself or with friends and just take that much needed break.  Trust me, it will be worth it.

And if cooking isn’t your forte…well, there is always hiking, biking, walking and running.  Also, I would just like to note that I am excited that Sharon offers Zumba classes twice a week as well as yoga.  I hope to attend some of these classes before the semester is over for more mental refreshment.

As a side note, please refer to Farleigh’s Thanksgiving blog to see all of the DELICIOUS food we had for our wonderful Thanksgiving in Vermont!!!

~D

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
