Skip navigation

What are you doing with your life?

I am not one that believes ignorance is bliss. However, there are many things I wish were not true, and sometimes so much so that I wish I just didn’t know. In my latest class of Extinction and Climate Change, we talked about ocean acidification. The concluding factor was that, unlike carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, we do not know how to reverse ocean acidification, or even if it can be reversed. Just think for a second…everything you and I are doing is in some small way contributing to the overloading of carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which is in turn causing the oceans to become permanently more acidic. Permanently. How many things can you think of that are permanent? The first thing that comes to my mind is death; and we are terrified of death. How come we are not terrified of ocean acidification?

Sometimes when sitting in class I cannot help but think: What am I doing with my life? What do we do now? Is there any hope? Are there any feasible solutions given the political climate and capitalistic society? Where do I put my efforts when I graduate next July? There is so much to be done and so little time to do it. In the past week I have had two different professors say: this is your battle to fight, these are your questions to answer, I will be dead. I’m not sure exactly what I will accomplish in my life, but that’s exactly what I’m going to do. I am going to fight. I am going to fight tooth and nail, for every living thing, for what I believe is right, until the day I die.

As Aldo Leopold wrote, “One of the penalties of an ecological education is that one lives alone in a world of wounds.”

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
