Skip navigation

SNOW DAY!

We knew yesterday that school was going to be closed today. And, looking outside, it’s not hard to see why. The snow is really coming down hard, and it’s expected to keep coming for the rest of the day. We could even get up to 15 or 16 inches! That should be great for skiing.

It’s kind of a bummer because it means we’ll have to make up classes, which is sort of a pain. I have a class on legal adaptations to climate change, and I was thinking that VLS needs to adapt to snowstorms. Perhaps this year is a little unusual with the amount and frequency of snow that we’re getting, but still, this is Vermont. I think for the spring semester, the school should pre-schedule make-ups or do something to adapt when the weather prevents classes from happening. (By the way, I think it’s definitely the right decision to close school on days like this — it’s just not a good idea to be driving in conditions like this.)

One professor is having us do an assignment instead of making up the class (I guess he’s adapted!), and another professor pre-scheduled the makeup when she heard earlier this week that we were supposed to get a lot of snow today. I think things like that probably make sense, because even though it’s nice to have the day off, we’re here to learn and to be in class, and I don’t really like missing too many classes.

But, I can’t say I’m too sad to be cozy in front of the fire, catching up on reading, looking out at the snow and drinking warm tea. Life’s pretty good indeed!

 

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
