Skip navigation

Finding a Balance

This semester has been pretty crazy so far, but one of the hardest things to do is to find a balance between classes and everything else going on in my life.

Over the past couple weeks, I have been interning at the Vermont Natural Resources Council at the State House in Montpelier.  This experience has already proved rewarding and I still have the rest of the semester to learn much more about the legislative process.  One of the most interesting experiences I have had so far was a testimony by a woman from an Austrian state.  She came to speak on behalf of biomass and renewable energy.  One of the statements she made was that her state is aiming to be 100% renewable by 2030.  That is just absolutely amazing!  I can’t even imagine a world where the U.S. is 100% renewable.  While Austria is much smaller than the U.S., they are still setting an amazing example by attempting to meet such an ambitious goal.

Each Tuesday and Thursday, I sit in committee meetings and take notes on the newest energy policies the state of Vermont has to offer.  I feel honored to be a part of such a unique process and I still get excited each time I set foot in that beautiful building in Montpelier.

Yesterday, I attended the town hall meeting at VLS which was given an Environmental Justice theme.  Six panelists, all of whom have impressive resumes and life experiences, shared their piece of environmental justice issues.  A couple VLS faculty members were on the panel and during dinner, students had the opportunity to talk with these experts about environmental justice concerns.  While I am not an environmental justice connoisseur, it was great to hear how passionate the panelists were about pushing for improved environmental justice in the U.S.  Overall, it was a rewarding experience and a great study break.

 

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
