Skip navigation

MELP Job Summit

Yesterday, many fellow MELPs and I attended a job summit offered by the Environmental Law Center and Career Services.  It was fascinating to hear education/professional experiences from alumni and gain tid-bits of information to put into my own folder of wisdom.  One of the biggest take-aways I gained from the summit was that I don’t need to find the perfect job as soon as I graduate.  While it would be ideal, volunteering and a fourth semester internship could prove just as valuable.  Also, I am hoping to move to Pittsburgh, PA and hopefully find an environmental consulting/management job there.  I was worried about how I would start out, but after the alumni panel, I feel a lot more comfortable with the fact that in just a few months I will finally be out in the real world.

Since this semester has been flying by faster that I could have ever imagined, I have been thinking a lot about my future.  Where will I be in 5 years? Heck, where will I be in ONE year?  Sometimes these unanswered questions can be daunting, but for me, they just add to the never-ending excitement of life.  Being unemployed is scary, but I can always pick up a part-time job until I find the job I want.  Being on my own is scary, but so many students/recent graduates are in the same boat as me and if they can do it, so can I.  I have also been thinking a lot about summer classes.  One class I am really looking forward to is the Land Use course, which is offered at the end of the summer in Montana.  I have yet to have a land use class, but my current Environmental Law professor, Jack Tuholske, is the professor of the Montana field course.  Since I came to VLS, I have been so ecstatic to finally participate in a course like this and it is ironic that it will be my very last graduate class.

As for my life…I’m not freaking out.  I just wanted to share some of the light bulb moments I have been having lately.  I feel like most of my colleagues may be going through the same thought processes, even though we come from all different walks of life.  While the future may seem scary, my comfort is that I know, from the alumni testimony, that VLS will prepare me to have a great career and a great life.  For that, I am very thankful.

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
