Skip navigation

Phew, a chance to catch a breath

Well, it’s almost spring break. I actually don’t have any more classes this week, so it sort of feels like spring break has already started, and I can’t say that I’m sad. Although I have a lot of work to do over spring break, I’m really glad to have the chance to get it done, and to have a little break from school. In fact, although I still have some things to wrap up this week, I spent the whole afternoon cross-country skiing, which was most excellent. It was a sunny beautiful day (a little cold) but definitely one to take advantage of, especially before the rain comes this weekend and really does a number on the snow.

It’s hard to believe it’s already time for spring break, though. It’s also time for maple sugaring, and I hope that I can learn how to do that a little bit this year. Apparently, you want warmish days (above freezing) and cold nights for the sap to run just right. Did you know it takes about 40 gallons of sap to make just 1 gallon of syrup. Yep, that’s why it’s so dang expensive. But, it’s definitely worth it. You can’t live in Vermont and not have maple syrup. I’m not even sure if you can buy Aunt Jemima in the store. There should be a law against it if there isn’t already!

I’m sort of kidding, but one of the best things about Vermont is all the local food you can get, and maple syrup stands out as one of the absolute best local food products that you can get here. So, when you’re making your budget for when you come to live here as a student, be sure to put a little extra in for the syrup — it’s definitely worth it 🙂

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
