Skip navigation

Spring Break Is Here

I like Vermont a lot.  I really do despite the long winter.  It’s just also nice to get away and leave the tiny town for a nice long period of time.  The past few weeks have been busy, and I have a feeling the next few weeks will be even busier.  I have so many papers coming up that all of the deadlines are starting to look like one big blur.

Last week, career services put together a job seminar for MELPs.  Unfortunately, the weather didn’t feel like cooperating so some of the panelists weren’t able to make it.  It still turned out to be good because we got to hear from VLS masters grads about their experience entering into the workforce.  The main points that I got out of the seminar is that D.C. seems to be the place where most of the alums went and the 4th Semester option is something to consider.  Part of my spring break goals is to start looking for jobs and possible 4th semester internships.  I didn’t originally plan on doing the 4th semester but it has its perks: further delay of paying back my loans, experience to put on the resume, a foot in the door to a possible career, and continued health insurance (if you’re getting insurance through the school).

On top of the job search, my spring break will be full of writing a public comment letter, writing a letter of inquiry for a grant proposal, starting my watersheds essay, and working on my negotiations final paper.  I wish I could say I was super productive already (my spring break started Thursday since I only have class on Mondays and Wednesdays) but instead I watched Netflix movies all day yesterday.  It is also spring break so I am allowed some days of rest.

Here’s to the beginning of a productive spring break!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
