Skip navigation

Resources in South Royalton

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the resources available to VLS students in South Royalton. For a very small town, there are quite a few resources that are very helpful to know about while you are a student. The town’s library is small, but full of many great books and has reading hours for children. I used the library quite a bit when I first arrived here before classes started, and I miss being able to read for fun.

VLS offers opportunities to stay active! We can take advantage of a wide range of classes offered at the Knight’ s Opera House- including Martial Arts, Yoga, Zumba, Indian Dance, Hip Hop and Irish Dance. The schedule is posted around campus or you can inquire at the Office of Student Affairs. I especially love Zumba! I was skeptical at first, but after going several times, it is one of my favorite parts of the week.

The South Royalton Post Office is home to some of the most helpful postal workers I’ve ever encountered. They also offer Passport application and renewal services, which means you don’t have to drive anywhere to get your Passport photo taken. When you are particularly busy, having one less thing to worry about, certainly puts me at ease.

The South Royalton Co-Op is full of everything you could possibly need to cook fast, healthy meals as well as elaborate wine and cheese parties and dinner parties. I love stopping by to pick up local produce and milk. The Vermont cheese selection is awesome, and shopping at the Co-Op gives you the ability to get to know lots of Vermont products.

VLS also provides counseling services for students, faculty, and staff. This is important to know because school and being away from our loved ones while adjusting to a new situation can be stressful and knowing that VLS provides services for every member of this community highlights how thoughtful the Administration is in its care for students. I’m in no way saying that coming to VLS has made me so stressed that I need extra people to talk to, but this is a piece of information everyone should be aware of.

I only note all of this because for most of us, South Royalton is the smallest town we will ever live in. At times it seems South Royalton is completely disconnected from the resources we’ve become accustomed to in bigger cities. However, if you open yourself up to the opportunities available to residents of this town, you won’t be disappointed!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
