Skip navigation

Searching for a new Dean

I just wanted to report on the process that’s currently happening here at VLS. The law school is looking for a new dean, and so all of the final candidates are coming to the campus to visit and meet with different people. Even if you don’t have a special meeting with the candidates, each one is holding a ‘town meeting’ type session where anyone from the VLS community is welcome to come and ask any question they want.

I’ve never been at a school before where they were looking for a new dean or president, but I have to say, it’s pretty cool to get to be involved, even on a small level. I don’t have a vote (a few student representatives do, though), but it’s still nice to meet these potential leaders and to hear about their vision for VLS.

There are still 2 more candidates to come, but what I can say so far is that I think this will be a really good thing for VLS. A new leader will bring new ideas and new enthusiasm, both of which seem to be needed here right now. I think it will mean good things for the MELP degree, and for the school more broadly. In fact, makes me wish I got to stay around a few more years to see the kinds of changes that will happen. But, that will be something you future MELPs will get to do instead!

Post a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.
